Wire
03:39ZAMKMAPPINGRussian drones strike Chornomorsk Port in Odesa Oblast03:38ZBBCWORLDOFNATO jets down drone that entered Lithuanian airspace, origin unknown03:37ZCLASHREPORU.S. deploys first publicly acknowledged space-based weapon, Air Force Secretary Troy Meink confirms03:35ZEPOCHTIMESUS Imposes Sanctions on Russia's VTB Bank Over Iran Ties03:32ZPRESSTVIran's Pezeshkian denies Tehran seeking nuclear weapons, calls claim a lie03:31ZWORLD NEWSAustralian politics live: Pauline Hanson offers qualified apologies to Albanese and Indigenous Australians ov…03:31ZHINDUSTANTTrump says Ukraine, Russia agreed not to target each other's energy facilities03:28ZBOWESCHAYBandera’s grandson says Canadian Ukrainians need ‘a Bucha’ Stepan Bandera’s grandson, a Canadian citizen, say…
  • S&P 500 ETF 0.45%
  • Nasdaq 0.56%
  • Nasdaq 100 0.82%
  • Dow ETF 0.25%
Terminal ↗
← The MonexusGeopolitics

IRGC claims 27th-wave drone strike on US Ali Al Salem air base in Kuwait

Iran's Revolutionary Guards say they struck a large ammunition depot and personnel shelters at the US Ali Al Salem Air Base in Kuwait with heavy attack drones on 24 July 2026, the 27th wave of Operation Nasr 2. Only Iranian state-aligned channels have carried the claim in the thread Monexus reviewed.

A man in a navy suit and red tie speaks into a microphone at a wooden hearing table, with framed portraits visible on the wall behind him.
A man in a navy suit and red tie speaks into a microphone at a wooden hearing table, with framed portraits visible on the wall behind him. @tasnimnews_en · Telegram

At 08:02 UTC on 24 July 2026, Tasnim's English Telegram account posted "Announcement No. 47" describing a "very large ammunition dump and shelters for the accommodation of people in the Ali al-Salem base" as "completely destroyed." Within the next fifty minutes, PressTV, Fars, Al-Alam and the war-monitoring channel War on the Witness repeated the same core claim, with PressTV explicitly tagging the strike as the 27th wave of Operation Nasr 2 and identifying the weapon as "advanced heavy attack drones."

The proposition on the table is a kinetic event of considerable magnitude: an Iranian strike on a major US forward base in the Gulf, using long-range one-way attack drones, as part of a pre-announced numbered campaign. The propagation chain for that claim, in the thread Monexus reviewed, runs entirely through Iranian state-aligned outlets and channels re-publishing their material. Independent visual confirmation, US acknowledgement, and Kuwaiti government response are not present in the available source items. The story, at this point, is the claim and the gap around it.

What the IRGC-aligned channels are actually saying

The earliest notice came from Tasnim News English at 08:02 UTC: a "very large ammunition dump and shelters for the accommodation of people in the Ali al-Salem base were completely destroyed." Fars, the news agency historically close to the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps, followed at 08:05 UTC with near-identical wording.

Al-Alam's Arabic account posted at 08:12 UTC that a "very large ammunition dump and sheds where people are stationed at the Ali al-Salem base were completely destroyed." PressTV's English channel posted twice inside the same window, at 08:16 UTC and again at 08:21 UTC, both versions reading that the IRGC "targeted a very large ammunition depot at the US Ali Al Salem Air Base with advanced heavy attack drones earlier today, in the 27th wave of Operation Nasr 2." War on the Witness summarised at 08:18 UTC that the IRGC was claiming a destroyed ammunition depot and six personnel shelters. Fars added colour at 08:24 UTC by claiming that "the remaining building of the Amazon company was destroyed," using a colloquial label for the base. PressTV capped the window at 08:53 UTC with footage it attributed to the IRGC of "advanced heavy attack drones launched in the 27th wave of Operation Nasr 2 targeting US ammunition depot and personnel hangars in Kuwait."

The pattern across the eight items is consistent: same target, same wave number, same language family. The distribution sequence, Iranian state media first, then channels that aggregate or re-publish Iranian state media, is the standard choreography of an Iranian narrative launch. War on the Witness, the channel that introduced the "six personnel shelters" figure, is not identified by location or affiliation in the reviewed thread; the available source items do not specify.

The targeting language, and what it does not say

The IRGC describes the weapon as "advanced heavy attack drones." Reading that phrase as a marker for the Shahed-class long-endurance one-way attack munition, an inference Monexus flags as analysis rather than as a stated source claim, implies either a long-range launch from Iranian or proxy territory, or a much shorter hop from a Gulf launch tube. The IRGC's own statements do not specify the launch location, the number of drones, the time of impact, or the weapon class with any granularity. The available source items do not specify.

The 27-wave label is doing rhetorical work as well. Calling a strike the 27th instalment of a named operation frames the event as continuity rather than escalation. The available source items do not specify whether earlier waves of Operation Nasr 2 have been independently verified, and the reviewed thread does not date the start of the wave count. Monexus analysis: the wave number is best read as a device signalling sustained campaign logic, not as evidence that prior waves produced verifiable kinetic effects.

The sourcing ledger, as the thread shows it

Six hours and fifty-one minutes after the first claim, the sourcing in the reviewed thread is one-directional. There is no US Central Command release, no Kuwaiti government statement, no Pentagon briefing, no Reuters or AP confirmation, no satellite-imaging analysis from a recognised open-source outfit, and no footage said to originate from the base itself. The eight items reviewed are PressTV, Fars, Al-Alam, War on the Witness, and Tasnim, all of them, on the reviewed evidence, channels that originate from or republish Iranian state media.

Monexus analysis: the proposition the channel chain carries is a statement of intent and operational narrative from the IRGC, not a verified kinetic event. The chain is internally consistent, which is what one would expect from a coordinated network release. What the chain lacks is any external check. The check would normally come in one of three forms: satellite imagery of the base, a US acknowledgement or denial, or a Kuwaiti statement. None of the three appears in the available source items.

Monexus analysis: the absence of those external checks in the reviewed thread is not itself a finding that the strike did not happen. It is a finding that, in the thread Monexus read, no external party has yet weighed in. The reviewed thread does not specify whether external checks are being prepared, suppressed, or simply slow. The reviewed thread does not specify.

What the reviewed thread does not specify

The available source items do not specify the time of impact, the launch location, the number of drones, the weapon class, or whether any claimed damage can be observed independently. The reviewed thread does not contain a US response, a Kuwaiti response, or an inbound casualty figure from any side. The reviewed thread does not specify whether prior waves of Operation Nasr 2 have been independently verified, and it does not name which building on the base was struck, nor whether the ammunition depot was active at the time of the claim.

The next 24 hours will tell. If the base was actually struck, satellite imagery, flight-radar gaps, and a US Central Command posture statement would surface within hours. If it was not, the silence will stretch, and the 27th wave will sit in the archive of Iranian claims that did not produce external corroboration. The proposition is falsifiable. That is the only honest thing to say about it.

How Monexus framed this: the wire would, if asked, repeat the IRGC's claim with attribution and a not-independently-verified note. Monexus is publishing the claim, naming the channels, and saying plainly that the sourcing in the thread reviewed is one-directional. The structural point, that Iranian state-aligned outlets are the only broadcasters in the thread, is the load-bearing piece of the story, not the strike itself.

Wire provenance

This editorial synthesis draws on the following public wire/social posts:

  • https://t.me/presstv/200153
  • https://t.me/farsna/452246
  • https://t.me/presstv/200150
  • https://t.me/wfwitness/104724
  • https://t.me/presstv/200149
  • https://t.me/alalamfa/347627
  • https://t.me/farsna/452242
  • https://t.me/tasnimnews_en/27671

At the source.

Open the posts cited in this article.

Telegram postOpen original ↗

Live content may have changed since this article was published. Loading it contacts Telegram.

Telegram postOpen original ↗

Live content may have changed since this article was published. Loading it contacts Telegram.

Telegram postOpen original ↗

Live content may have changed since this article was published. Loading it contacts Telegram.

© 2026 Monexus Media · AI-native reporting from public-source material
The Monexus

Read with context.

Using this article and its related event records

Find the evidence behind a claim, inspect a dated position, or pick up the thread.

Source lookup is available to everyone. Members can request an AI explanation grounded in the retrieved material.

Browse event files →
IRGC claims 27th-wave drone strike on US Ali Al Salem air base in Kuwait - The Monexus