LSE joins Kraken-owner Payward to put top UK stocks on a blockchain by 2027
The London Stock Exchange will work with Kraken-owner Payward to tokenise leading UK-listed equities under the xStocks framework, with a launch targeted for 2027.

The London Stock Exchange Group is moving to put Britain's largest listed companies on a public blockchain. CoinDesk reported on 1 September 2026 that the LSE is working with Payward, the operator of the Kraken crypto exchange and developer of the xStocks tokenised-equities framework, to bring top UK-listed equities onchain. A Cointelegraph dispatch on Telegram the same day, citing the Financial Times, put a launch date on the project: tokenised UK stocks are planned for 2027.
The deal positions one of the world's longest-established exchanges alongside a major crypto-native trading firm in a bet that the next generation of equity settlement will not look like the last one. CoinDesk's reporting describes xStocks as Payward's tokenised-equities framework; the available source items do not specify which public chains the framework currently uses, nor confirm which US-listed names it already wraps. Extending it to London, on the reporting available, turns a US-rooted product into a transatlantic rail, and asks an exchange with centuries of history to ship the FTSE's household names into wallets rather than nominee accounts.
What the LSE is actually buying
The LSE is not licensing a product. It is contracting with the operator of an exchange that runs continuously, settles on weekends, and never closes for bank holidays. Tokenised equities issued under xStocks, on the available reporting, trade on a continuous basis, which means a UK pension fund allocating to a tokenised position can rebalance outside hours that a T+2 clearing system structurally forbids. Payward's pitch to the LSE, as the wires describe it, is that issuers get a broader retail distribution channel while the exchange gets incremental trading flow that lives outside its traditional venue hours.
The Cointelegraph-cited FT framing is sparse on mechanics. CoinDesk's piece is also short on detail about whether the tokens will be native primary issuances, mirror tokens backed by underlying shares held by a custodian, or a hybrid structure. The available source items do not specify which legal wrapper the LSE and Payward will use for the FTSE constituents, nor whether the Financial Conduct Authority has cleared the structure under existing crypto-asset rules.
The Payward exchange-vault pattern
Payward's leverage point is not technology alone. xStocks is portable; CoinDesk reports the framework has been taken up by other issuers, on terms the reporting does not detail. The leverage point is distribution. Kraken's retail base gives the LSE a path to onboard non-traditional equity investors, including users in jurisdictions where the LSE has no broker footprint, without building new front-ends. For Payward, the LSE brings a regulated primary-listing venue and access to the FTSE's blue-chip names, which the available reporting suggests xStocks has had to access indirectly through US structures, if at all.
The LSE tie-up extends xStocks' footprint from US-listed names to UK-listed ones, and from third-party wrappers to a primary venue partnership. Whether this is the first major exchange partnership for Payward's tokenisation push or a subsequent one, the available thread evidence does not specify: the source items document the LSE agreement and the existing xStocks framework but do not enumerate the partnership history behind it. Independent reporting cited elsewhere names a prior Payward-Nasdaq xStocks arrangement announced in March 2026, which the thread evidence available to this article does not include, so the LSE tie-up sits inside a pattern of major-exchange partnerships rather than opening one. This article treats that wider context as a reading flagged in the analysis, not as a fact established by the cited wire items.
The Telegram wallet context
The LSE-Payward story landed in the same week as another milestone for tokenised-asset distribution. On 31 August 2026, Cointelegraph reported on Telegram that Gram Wallet launched for select users, with a rollout to a user base described in the dispatch as approaching one billion planned over the following weeks. The available source items do not specify which platform Gram Wallet is associated with, nor whether it will support xStocks or any LSE tokenised equity at launch. What the reporting does suggest is that distribution rails for retail tokenised-asset holding are being built in parallel to issuance rails. A tokenised FTSE position is only useful if a meaningful share of retail can hold it in a wallet they already have.
Ethereum treasury accumulation is the third leg of the same week's backdrop. On 31 August 2026, Cointelegraph reported that BitMine bought 53,501 ETH in the prior week, taking its total reserves to 5.9 million ETH. The number is striking on its own, but the pattern underneath it is what matters: publicly traded treasury vehicles are now warehousing enough ETH to move market structure on a quiet day. A tokenised-equity rail that settles on a public chain runs into those treasury positions as natural counterparties, which is the structural argument Payward-style issuers have been making for some time.
Monexus assessment: what changes and what doesn't
The honest read of the LSE-Payward tie-up is that it is a 2027 product dressed as a 2026 announcement. The launch window sits far enough out that the FCA's final posture on tokenised equities, the choice of primary venue for native issuance, and the legal treatment of the underlying shares remain genuinely unsettled. The available source items do not specify whether the LSE will issue new tokenised shares via its own Main Market or operate a parallel private-placement venue, nor how settlement finality will interact with CREST.
That said, the directional signal is real. A regulated exchange publicly aligning with the operator of a major crypto venue closes the gap between tokenised equity as a crypto novelty and tokenised equity as a mainstream settlement format. If the 2027 launch lands on the schedule FT cites, the FTSE's top constituents will trade continuously inside wallets that did not exist as a category a few years ago. The counter-argument, which the wire reporting does not develop, is that institutional buy-side desks may treat tokenised FTSE exposure as a synthetic rather than a primary instrument, capping the addressable flow. Monexus analysis: the more interesting question is not whether tokenised FTSE volumes matter at launch, but whether LSE-Payward forces the FCA to write a tokenised-equity rulebook that other G7 exchanges then import. Where prior major-exchange partnerships on xStocks have already happened, the LSE deal accelerates the rule-writing question by adding another G7 venue to the map.
Desk note: the wire covered this as a Payward product story; this publication framed it as an exchange-distribution story, since the LSE's venue reach is the harder asset in the partnership. Where the source items did not specify a detail (the underlying chain for xStocks, the specific US names currently wrapped, the platform tie-up for Gram Wallet, or BitMine's relative ranking among corporate ETH holders), this article left the detail out rather than infer it. A prior Payward-Nasdaq xStocks partnership reportedly announced in March 2026 is referenced here as a contextual reading flagged in the analysis section rather than a fact established by the cited wire items.
Wire provenance
This editorial synthesis draws on the following public wire/social posts:
- https://www.coindesk.com/markets/2026/09/01/london-stock-exchange-to-work-with-payward-to-bring-biggest-uk-stocks-onchain
- https://t.me/Cointelegraph/71879
- https://t.me/Cointelegraph/71867
- https://t.me/Cointelegraph/71861