IDF says it killed a Hamas commander it links to the 7 October attack; Hamas confirms the death
The IDF and Shin Bet said on 13 August 2026 they had killed Jamal Mahmoud Abu Kamil, a Hamas commander it linked to the 7 October 2023 attack; Hamas separately confirmed the death, identifying him as its Gaza City police chief.

An Israeli airstrike on a vehicle in Gaza City on 13 August 2026 killed a man the IDF and Shin Bet identified as Jamal Mahmoud Abu Kamil, a Hamas commander they linked to the 7 October 2023 infiltration into Israel, with separate local Gaza reporting relayed through War on Gaza Witness identifying him as Abu Riyad Kamil and as the commander of the Hamas police in the Gaza City district. The IDF framed the killing in three sequential posts: a joint Hebrew-language announcement at 17:45 UTC on its official channel naming the target as Jamal Mahmoud Abu Kamil, a Hamas commander who "infiltrated Israel during the October 7th Massacre," a second post at 18:18 UTC showing footage of a vehicle captioned as the "Hamas Gaza District Police Commander," and a third post in English at 18:20 UTC confirming the killing. Multiple wire outlets on 13 August 2026 reported that Hamas confirmed the death and identified the man as the head of its Gaza City police.
The convergence of an IDF-S Shin Bet announcement naming the target, a separate local identification as the district police chief, and a Hamas admission of the same man's death gives the strike a weight that an ordinary attrition strike would not carry. Within hours, three independent channels publicly agreed on two of the three load-bearing facts: the name and the rank. The disputed third fact, what the target did on 7 October 2023, rests on the IDF's own framing.
What the IDF said, in order
The earliest item in the source thread is a joint IDF and Israel Security Agency (Shin Bet) announcement posted to the IDF Spokesperson's official Hebrew channel at 17:45 UTC on 13 August 2026. The post names the target as Jamal Mahmoud Abu Kamil and identifies him as a Hamas commander who "infiltrated Israel during the October 7th Massacre," struck earlier that Thursday. The available text does not specify which Israeli community or military position he attacked on 7 October 2023, nor whether his role in the infiltration was operational, logistical, or peripheral; "infiltrated" is used as a single category.
A second IDF Spokesperson post followed at 18:18 UTC, this time showing footage of what it described as the Hamas Gaza District Police Commander's vehicle. The post identifies the role but, in the items available here, does not repeat the name given in the 17:45 UTC statement. A third post in English at 18:20 UTC, on the IDF's English-language mirror channel, confirmed the killing in the same "Hamas terrorist organization" framing of the 17:45 UTC release without independently specifying a district or police role.
The full name and the Gaza City police-command role come into the available record through two converging channels. War on Gaza Witness, a Telegram channel that aggregates local Gaza reporting, posted at roughly 17:52 UTC identifying the man killed in the Gaza City vehicle strike as Abu Riyad Kamil, the commander of the Hamas police in the Gaza City district. The local identification converged with the IDF's structural description of the role, if not with its own sequencing of how it was introduced. Multiple wire outlets on 13 August 2026, Times of Israel, Reuters, Egypt Today, Middle East Monitor, ASHARQ AL-AWSAT, and The New Arab, reported the death and identified him as the Gaza City police chief, with several of them quoting Hamas as confirming the killing.
What the combined framing does
Read together, the three IDF posts, the War on Gaza Witness relay, and the wire reporting converge on a single composite claim: Israel has killed a man who is both a current police administrator inside Gaza and, on the IDF's own assertion, a participant in the 7 October 2023 attack. The Hamas confirmation of the death removes the most plausible source of competing identification that would otherwise leave the IDF's framing in limbo.
Two plausible reads sit on top of the same evidence. Monexus assessment: the dominant reading is operational. Killing a district-level police commander degrades Hamas's ability to run civil administration inside Gaza, regardless of what that commander did on 7 October 2023. The second reading is communicative. Publicly linking a current administrator to 7 October 2023 lets the IDF attach a founding-act label to attrition strikes that would otherwise look like a routine governance campaign. The thread evidence and wire reporting support both reads and rule out neither; the campaign has room to absorb both objectives, and the public framing here is consistent with both being intended.
The framing also has limits within the supplied material. The IDF does not specify whether anyone else was in the struck vehicle, whether there were additional casualties, what munition was used, or precisely where in Gaza City the strike occurred. War on Gaza Witness names the individual but does not, in the available text, independently confirm the 7 October 2023 attribution.
The structural read
Hamas's district police structure is the layer that nominally runs civilian life inside Gaza under the group's rule. Sustained attrition of that layer has been a recurring feature of the campaign since 2024, alongside the more visible strikes on the group's military leadership. Killing the Gaza City district commander does not by itself break that structure, but it removes an experienced administrator at a moment when the organisation has had to rebuild mid-level policing capacity several times over.
Attaching a 7 October label to that bureaucratic targeting is the move that distinguishes this announcement from the routine. It positions the strike inside the founding narrative of the war rather than inside the slower administrative-clearing campaign, and it does so in language the IDF has used before for the military wing but applied here to the police wing. That distinction is one the IDF's own press language normally preserves; the announcement compresses it.
What remains thin
Several specifics in the source thread are not stated. Casualty figures beyond the named commander, the exact munition, the precise strike coordinates, and the operational role, if any, the target played on 7 October 2023 are not specified in any of the available IDF posts or in the War on Gaza Witness relay. Hamas's own public confirmation, reported on 13 August 2026 by Times of Israel, Reuters, Egypt Today, Middle East Monitor, ASHARQ AL-AWSAT, and The New Arab, validates the death and the Gaza City police rank; it does not, in the items here, endorse the IDF's 7 October attribution. The available thread alone carries the IDF's assertion on that third fact.
Desk note: Monexus treated the three IDF posts as a sequence rather than a single statement, kept War on Gaza Witness's named-individual identification at the centre of the Abu Kamil claim, and used wire reporting from 13 August 2026 to record Hamas's confirmation of the death. The October 7 attribution remains the IDF's own assertion, and the article has said so.
Wire provenance
This editorial synthesis draws on the following public wire/social posts:
- https://t.me/idfofficial/19053
- https://t.me/englishabuali/77694
- https://t.me/englishabuali/77693
- https://t.me/wfwitness/106909